Mulled Wine Freedomness

As the days pass by the weather becomes cooler and cooler. Every fall and winter one of my first choices of drinks is wine. I don’t know why, but it feels like wine rises up the temperature of my body. So yesterday I went to a bar near my house for a drink with my friends. I always order my favourite cocktail or a glass of red wine.

mulled wine.jpg
image from here

But that particular day I wasn’t in to any of those two drinks i regularly order, so I asked the waitress to bring me the menu. There, under the cocktail category I saw the Mulled Wine Cocktail and I decided to taste this cocktail and give it a try.My choice was fortunately excellent. This warm magical flavour still pops into my head. I was shocked that all this time I hadn’t realised that this cocktail existed. If you are a red wine lover you can’t imagine the freedomness that the mulled wine cocktail offers to you.

mulled-wine-1-6
image from here

It is not just the freedom but also the essence of this particular cocktail. Find the time if you wish and you are chilling in your couch or in your office working. This particular cocktail will change your perspective. You deserve this magical flavour, don’t hesitate it’s time to amuse yourself.

sv_mulled_wine_460x260
image from here

Here is a recipe I found.

Ingredients that you need:

1 (750 ml) bottle of dry red wine
1 orange, sliced into rounds
1/4 cup brandy (optional)
1/4 cup honey or sugar
8 whole cloves
2 cinnamon sticks
2 star anise
optional garnishes: citrus slices (orange, lemon and/or lime), extra cinnamon sticks, extra star anise

Guidelines to follow for the cocktail’s preparation:

Combine all ingredients in a non-aluminum saucepan, and bring to a simmer (not a boil — you don’t want to boil the alcohol out!) over medium-high heat. Reduce heat to medium-low, and let the wine simmer for at least 15 minutes or up to 3 hours. Strain, and serve warm with your desired garnishes.

*You can also place the oranges, cloves, cinnamon, and star anise in a cheesecloth. Then simply strain and pull out the bundle when ready to serve.

Tell me about your experience!! Comment below, share with me your insights and I will make the best out of it!! Enjoy your own freedomness..

Stay tuned for the next seasonal flavour!!!

Leave a Reply

